Subodh Uniyal BJP Biography, Age, Political Career, Wife, Family, Sons, Department

Subodh Uniyal Biography

Subodh Uniyal was born on 26th of July 1960, and he is now 61 Years old according to 2022. He was born to Late Dharmanand Uniyal (father). He was married to Suman Uniyal in 1994 and has three children. Subodh Uniyal is an Indian politician and currently is a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP). In 2022, he was elected to the Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly in Tehri Garhwal District from the Narendra Nagar Constituency. He currently serves as the Agricultural Minister of Uttarakhand. 

Subodh Uniyal Political Career

He joined the Indian National Congress on the 6th of June 1989 and also got the post of the Vice President of the Youth Congress. He got his first ticket as a political candidate. Unfortunately, at the last moment his nomination was cancelled as no symbol was provided to him. Subodh Uniyal competed in his first election from the Narendra Nagar Constituency as a part of the Indian National Congress in 2002. The election was won by him by 1537 votes. He was given the post of the Principal advisor to the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand at that time, late Mr Narayan Dutt Tiwari. He fought the election from the same constituency again in 2007. He lost the election after being declared as the winner by 4 votes, as his postal ballots were invalid. The incident did not demotivate him, and he won the election in 2012 by 401 votes. He was not given a ministry, promised before Harish Rawat was made the CM of the state. In response to that, Subodh Uniyal and  8 other MLA’s revolted against Harish Rawat’s government due to his corrupt practices. The revolt was lead by Subodh Uniyal. Subodh and the other 8 MLA’s decided to join Bharatiya Janata Party’s camp. The event’s consequence was President Rule being imposed on Uttarakhand. He won the election again in 2017 by a margin of 4972 votes from the same constituency in the 2017 Uttarakhand Legislative Election. Subodh Uniyal won the fourth time in the Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly election and the third time in a row from the Narendra Nagar Constituency by a margin of 1798 votes.

Read Also – Umesh Kumar Journalist Biography

Share on Social Media